ACS Division of Chemical Education Glenn and Jane Crosby Northwest Region Award

for Excellence in High School Teaching


ACS Division of Chemical Education & the ACS Northwest Region. In 2006, The Division of Chemical Education established an endowment to underwrite an Awards Program designed to recognize, encourage, and stimulate outstanding teachers of high school chemistry in the ten Regions of the American Chemical Society.


To recognize, encourage, and stimulate outstanding teachers of high school chemistry in the Northwest Region. Nominees must be actively engaged in the teaching of chemistry or a chemical science in a high school (grades 9-12) on at least a half-time basis.


The award will be presented at the 2018 ACS Regional Meeting (NORM 2018), which will be held June 24-27, 2018 at the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL) in Richland, Washington. The ACS Northwest Region Award consists of a $1000 cash award to the Teacher, $50 for AACT membership dues, and $450 to the High School for use with STEM activities and plaques for both the teacher and the high school. Reasonable travel expenses to the Regional Meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed by the Northwest Region. The NORM 2018 meeting will provide 2 tickets to the Awards Banquet, Meeting Registration and hotel coverage for the Award Recipient.


Nominees may come from academia, industry, government, or independent entities, and may also be organizations, including ACS Local Sections and Divisions. The nominee must have created and fostered ongoing programs or activities that result in increased numbers of persons from diverse and underrepresented minority groups, or persons with disabilities, who participate in the chemical enterprise.


The nomination deadline is April 30, 2018.


Please use this nomination form (Word doc) AND the checklist/scoring rubric to submit a complete package.

Nominate now

Previous Winners

2017—Patty Weston, Mercer Island High School (Mercer Island, WA)
“In recognition of her outstanding contribution to the quality of chemistry education in the Northwest Region”

2016—James Yoos, Bellingham High School (Bellingham, WA)

2015—Emmely Briley, Molalla High School (Molalla, OR)

2014—Jeff Charbonneau, Zillah High School (Zillah, WA)

2013—Brett Taylor, Sentinel High School (Missoula, MT)

2012—Marianne Molendy Feller, Kennewick High School (Kennewick, WA)

2011—Norman Nielsen, Northwest Christian High School (Lacey, WA)

2010—Tracey Dowis Messick, Cheyenne High School (Central, WY)

2009—Paul Phillips, Capital High School (Helena, MT)

2008—Anthony Favero, Hamilton High School (Hamilton, MT)

2007—Sarah Harris, Mackay High School (Mackay, ID)

Glenn and Jane Crosby

The High School Teaching Award owes its standing within ACS, particularly as a Regional award, to the fundraising and championing efforts of Glenn and Jane Crosby. 

The ACS Division of Chemical Education has stepped forward to establish an endowment that will support awards for high school science teachers in every Region of the ACS. By establishing an effort to solicit funds for the Division of Chemical Education Teaching Excellence Endowment, the Division is making a firm financial commitment to high school science teaching, ACS Regions, and the profession of chemistry. Learn more about contributing to this Endowment